A new player asks for advice

Hey there,
i just started playing for the first time and i do need some advice.
I wanted to go warrior at the start and after skimming some old wiki i thought i had my build together.
My skills are :

Sword 63
Tactics 60
Focus 98
Anatomy 72
Healing 53
Lumberjacking 63
Mining 50

Stats: 97Str  65Dex  40Int   225/260
I know that i wont be able to max all of these skills and i do have a returning old player helping me with gold and stuff, but she plays almost exclusivly tamers, so not much melee knowledge to be had there.

I was thinking about optimising my build, maybe going paladin with parry, before i "waste" too much time learning the wrong skills. I skimmed the forum and so far im at:

-Focus is not useful for what i had in mind
-the axe-dmg boost from lumberjacking is minimal
-lose at least one gathering skill so i can push the combat stuff with powerscrolls once i can find some.

Thoughts? Advise?  All help is welcome.

Comments

• Arnold7Arnold7 Posts: 1,291
    Don’t think mining helps a fighter the way lumberjacking does.  Would think about chivalry or Bushiido (spelling bad)) instead.  Chivalry has nice spells for a fighter esp. without resist spells and I think the other does more damage.  Others will provide better answers.

• NorryNorry Posts: 515
    Swords 120
    Tactics 60
    Chiv 80
    Bush 120
    Parry 120

Leaves you 220 to play with
    Could do
    100 lumber(offset the lost damage from lower tactics)
    120 anat.

Or
    Drop bush giving 340 points
    Healing and anat 100
    Necro 100 for vamp form
    Take tactics to 100

• BilboBilbo Posts: 2,834
    120 Sword
    110 Anatomy + Jewelry/Tally - 120
    100 Healing
    100 Parry
    110 Tactics + Jewelry/Tally - 120
    100 Resist
    80 Chivalry