New Legacy

2»

Comments

• TimTim Posts: 796
    No evidence to back it up but I my read on the wipe once a year was.

NL is intended as a test bed for core changes to both programming and game play.
    By wiping every year or more often if things go bad there is no complaints about losing 20 years of game play. For example of what I mean, if they try some change to crafting and it has unintended effects then next year they can go back to the old way or try something new. Can you imagine them doing that on a production shard?

By the way I don't play Fel because I really don't want to deal with someone who thinks they are brave for playing there. That's one step from "I'm a combat vet because I play Call of Duty all the time".

PvP or PvM is just a personal choice of how you spend your play time. It has no more meaning on you personality then do you prefer to play golf or football. Note some of the best golf courses I've ever seen are on US military basses.
  • keven2002keven2002 Posts: 2,169
    Tim said:
    No evidence to back it up but I my read on the wipe once a year was.

NL is intended as a test bed for core changes to both programming and game play.
    By wiping every year or more often if things go bad there is no complaints about losing 20 years of game play. For example of what I mean, if they try some change to crafting and it has unintended effects then next year they can go back to the old way or try something new. Can you imagine them doing that on a production shard?

The Dev team said at one point that they could move some of the NL things into production but I don't think it would be an overhaul thing like a rebuild of crafting because they would have to layer it in with all the existing code. My guess is that these things will be one-off easily implemented type things like "a fur cloak". The potential issue I see with moving the "popular" things from NL to change how things work with production shard would be the size of the player base.