Please make IDOCs go away for good

Comments

• TimStTimSt Posts: 1,806
    TimSt said:
    TimSt said:
    I wonder if there is a way to disable all scripting in the area for a minute after a house falls. It would mean client changes.   That would put an end to the scripting issue.
    From a programming point of view, that's not possible.

It should be possible considering they were able to re-enable the crafting actions like make-last. They could add an if statement like "if (time < g_timeHouseFell + g_idocTimeLimit) { return; } to each of the scriptable actions.
    I don’t see how that would stop a 3rd party script though. I’m fairly new to programming and have only worked with java (and a tiny bit of swift) so far. So maybe I’m missing something. 

The 3rd party script has to call functions provided by the client to get the client to do things like pick up an object.  Think of it this way: your java program calls functions provided by the Android framework. Your program is the 3rd party script and the Android framework would be the UO client.

Don't fret. I have 35 years programming experience and I still miss things.

Something I've learned from my experiences is: coding to handle failure is just as important as coding for success.

• MissEMissE Posts: 776
    Just don't advertise something is going IDOC.  The house owner should get an email, the house should turn idoc with NO notification on the sign and then it should just drop. If your lucky enough to be around when it does you score.  If not tough luck.  Pretty simple solution. 

Cheers MissE

For more info about Angelwood Warehouse Events go to the A.W.E Forum
  • IvenorIvenor Posts: 1,216
    MissE said:
    Just don't advertise something is going IDOC.  The house owner should get an email, the house should turn idoc with NO notification on the sign and then it should just drop. If your lucky enough to be around when it does you score.  If not tough luck.  Pretty simple solution.