Interview with EM Nekomata!

Community ManagerCommunity Manager Posts: 139Dev
edited December 2023 in General Discussions

This week I had the pleasure of speaking with EM Nekomata! Definitely an interesting read!!

1.    What made you decide to start EMing?

When the EM program was first introduced in Japan in 2010, there were eight shards worlds and only two EMs. I guess it was when I saw one of them saying "猫の手も借りたい" and recruiting players to become EMs. In English, it means I'll take all the help I can get.

2.    What is your favorite part about EMing?

I love it when I meet player who enjoys talking to the characters in a story event. I'm simply happy that people have shown interest in the story and I love the depth of the story that is brought to life by players who respond.

3.    What is your favorite memory thus far of EMing?

I've been doing EM for over 10 years and can't decide which is my best memory. The live events, the story events, the mini-events and anniversary events with players, because they were all so much fun.

4.    What is your most memorable moment playing UO?

I know that's a boring answer, but maybe when I became a 7GM craftsman, which in 1999 was a big deal. I was repairing armor in the guild house when the rest of the guild was talking about PK's and PKK's. I still spend more time playing as a craftsman.

5.    What is your favorite thing to do in UO?

Maybe running vendor shops. I'd also get my house cleaned out. I have a bad habit of hoarding items.

6.    Is there a specific event that you've done that is your favorite? What is it?

This is a mini-event series goblin’s restaurant. Each time a named fish’s fishing contest is held, the fish caught are used to create a dish to add to the restaurant's menu. We used to have a gardening event in New Magincia, but since the introduction of the governor system, we have left that to the New Magincia governor.