Newer UO player perspective

Hey folks,

I'm new to UO somewhat. I've probably played around 500 hours. First go I played in 2020. The game has a lot of complexity and hidden knowledge so I started with a very basic pure fighter. Luckily people on Atlantic were extremely helpful. There's a lot of information of course on here and throughout the web since the release. As I asked question after question and spammed veteran players repeatedly for knowledge... I went from zero to 10 million plus gold. I got a house, some of the expansions and I took a break. I've returned again and am enjoying myself once more. Although I'm somewhat new to UO, I've been testing and playing sandbox mmorpgs since Shadowbane back in 2003. Probably docked a good 10-20k hours in them. I've always been interested in getting deep into the games mechanics and giving feedback to devs based on my experience and others.

I really think with the right formula UO could be so much more popular than it is. There really isn't another game in the genre that's still official out there with as much depth and community interaction. Feel like the new player experience and the current monetization is really stunting it's growth and making the game stale. Most players won't be as patient or persistent as myself in a game like this. Most people don't even know it still exists. The common reaction to me playing/streaming UO is... "This game still exists?".