Something wrong with merchant ship spawn?

Hello! I used to play on Atlantic and going back and forth on some tokuno islands I used to find a lot of merchant ships. like 50-50 with pirate ships. Since I started playing on Catskills I already farmed my orc ship, and for 5 days I havent found a single merchant ship. Lots of lighthouses and pirate ships but the merchant ships seem to vanished. Any fellow pirate feeling the same?

Comments

• CinderellaCinderella Posts: 1,679
    its like a champ spawn

merchants (wave 1)
    pirates (wave 2)
    plunderbeacons (wave 3)

you have to get rid of the pirate ships and plunderbeacons 
    for them to start spawning again

• PawainPawain Posts: 9,050
    That sounds interesting,  I always avoid the Merchant ships but I can tell the bored crew that it is like a champ spawn so they will stay awake while we look for beacons.
    Focus on what you can do, not what you can't.
  • But I am... Im not skipping anything... I kill beacons and I scuttle pirate ships .. (just not killing the captain because it takes too long) but I have always done that way
    edited February 2023
    Hannibal said:
    But I am... Im not skipping anything... I kill beacons and I scuttle pirate ships .. (just not killing the captain because it takes too long) but I have always done that way
    Do you have a tamer on another account?  An AI/Chiv pet will kill him pretty quick. 2 pets and you don't have time to loot the ship before he is dead.

Does the ship go poof if you don't kill the Captain?  I know you can stay on the ship and train a pet for a really long time. But when you leave it goes poof.  But I always kill the captain.
  • CinderellaCinderella Posts: 1,679
    you must kill everything before they respawn.
    I have guild mates who will only go for specific ones
    and I keep telling them you have to clear everything

my husband will do pirates and merchant ships until he gets burnt out.
    so I have spent lot of time doing them with him.