Modding the EC on a low level?

I prefer using the default UI, but I would like to be able to edit some of the 'action' icons to give me more choice, not the ones to perform the action, just the ones you pull into a hot bar to represent your macro - something like swapping one of the number icons to be a red coloured fishing skill icon to use for a lava fishing macro.
I have no knowledge of where to even start!  Any chance of an idiot's guide from someone?

Comments

• TimStTimSt Posts: 1,779
    edited April 2022
    You need to create your own custom UI directory structure such as: C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Ultima Online Enhanced\UserInterface\Petra's UI\Icons\Macro Icons\Numbers then add the appropriate file to override such as 04.dds.  Unfortunately I do not know how to edit such a DDS file (yet).

The beauty of UO's custom UI is that if you want to override just one thing you only need the appropriate directory structure and that one file.
  • Petra_FydePetra_Fyde Posts: 1,321
    Thank you! I have the dds plug in for Gimp, so editing is np. 
  • TimStTimSt Posts: 1,779
    Since you mentioned the fishing skill icon you can find it here: "C:\Program Files (x86)\Electronic Arts\Ultima Online Enhanced\UserInterface\Petra's UI\Icons\Skills\Fishing.dds". Open the file. copy the graphic for it, add the red for lava, and then put it in the .DDS file you are overriding under Icons\Macro Icons\Numbers

done that, thanks. In fact made 2, one has the fishing icon with a bait pot in bottom left corner, and one has a red circle top left corner - making the whole thing red didn't look right :(
  • done that, thanks. In fact made 2, one has the fishing icon with a bait pot in bottom left corner, and one has a red circle top left corner - making the whole thing red didn't look right :(
    Should have just put a little fire icon up there. that or a cookie, cookies always work.

A Goblin, a Gargoyle, and a Drow walk into a bar . . .